Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Nimona : Banarsi Style Mashed Green Peas Curry

Last week, I was in one of my I am bored of everything moods. I get these attacks once in a while where the usual chicken, fish, dal and sabji’s just don’t cut the mark for me. I want something different. Something that is not made in my kitchen regularly and considering it is winter (relatively speaking anyways) and there are fresh green peas available. I decided to make Nimona, I had read about Nimona here long time ago, made it once but forgotten about it later. So that day it came back to my memory suddenly. My mother in law who was eating it the first time, loved it and so did everyone else  who it.

I think it’s the simplicity of the dish that’s its beauty too. Make it and I promise you will be licking your fingers

DSC_0199

Recipe – Nimona , Banarsi Style Mashed Green Peas Curry

Source – Adapted from Banaras Ka Khaana 

What I used

  • 1 1/2 cup fresh shelled green peas
  • 1 1/2 inch ginger piece
  • 2 green chillies
  • 1 tsp jeera powder
  • 1 tsp jeera
  • 1 tsp black pepper powder
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Generous pinch of hing
  • 1 tbsp ghee
  • 1 cup of warm water
  • Salt to taste

How I made it

  • Grind ginger, green chillies and peas coarsely using as little water as possible. I like to keep a handful of peas ungrinded to add the texture
  • Heat ghee in a heavy bottom pan, add hing and fry for 30 secs
  • Add the jeera seeds and fry till golden brown. Add bay leaf and fry for another 30 secs
  • Now add the ground peas and dry spices and roast for 5 mins on low flame
  • Add the warm water and let it boil for 3-4 minutes and its done
  • Serve with hot roti’s, it also tasted yumm with rice

DSC_0202

14 comments on “Nimona : Banarsi Style Mashed Green Peas Curry

  1. sony
    January 13, 2014

    hey..its refreshing to know you tried this recipe…. at my place esp in winters this is made so frequently. Here garlic and green coriander leaves play major role. You can always mash the peas and fry it for some time. And for gravy have all spices with garlic and green coriander leaves and grind this in a mixer. Add lil oil in separate fry pan, add heeng, jeera bay leaf and then this mix. let it cook for some time and then add green peas mix. Add lil water and let it cook for 5-8 mins. it tastes fresh and so flavorful….

    • monikamanchanda
      January 17, 2014

      oh almost similar to what I did plus the garlic, will try this version too may be

  2. sohni kitchen
    January 13, 2014

    There is a gang of ladies in my apartment all, who were talking about green peas nimona recipe and how tasty it is…. good i got a recipe from a known cook now.. will try it soon… before fresh green peas are gone 🙂

  3. Noodle
    January 13, 2014

    thanks for posting this mon. Will try it over the weekend.

  4. PotSoup
    January 13, 2014

    Here is something I should have added to my latest post. http://potsoup.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/a-pea-for-your-thoughts/

    • monikamanchanda
      January 17, 2014

      oh what a yummy list that is, I am gonna be making a few things from there soon

  5. sangeeta khanna
    January 17, 2014

    My goodness 🙂 I am so so glad you liked nimona 🙂

  6. Fabida ABdulla
    January 17, 2014

    Looks like a great curry to go with rotis!

  7. obsessivemom
    January 27, 2014

    Sounds yum. Will try it. We make a similar thing out of green chana.. The fresh ones – and that’s called a Nimna too.

  8. Pingback: Cholia ka Nimona : Mashed Garbanzo beans curry | Sin-A-Mon Tales

  9. Pingback: Five curries to make without Onions | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a comment

CAL Badge