Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Naan and HLI – Spinach an event announcement

I absolutely love naans specially butter naans (yeah yeah who doesn’t like butter come on?) But somehow since I have come to Bangalore I have always been left wanting for more when it comes to naan. So somedays back when I saw this butter naan I decided to give it a try

IMG_5464

I made it twice, once I rolled it a thicker a little like kulcha I would say and once like above thin and strechted like a perfect both the times the result was only yummnesss, I liked the naan version better and the hubby liked the kulcha kind of version better

IMG_4976

Recipe – Naan (source Zesty Palette)

What I used

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • (3/4 tbsp) instant dry yeast (I use gloripan)
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Salt to taste
  • Water (About 1 cup warm water)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Butter for greasing as much as you want, go ahead don’t be shy

How I made it

  • Activate the yeast with sugar and warm water for 5 minutes.
  • Mix this with flour and salt and knead well for about 5-7 minutes till you get a smooth and stretchy dough

Misc4

  • Leave it for proofing for about 3 hours or so
  • Pinch the dough and make small same sized balls. Roll it out in a oven or desired shape. Grease with butter
  • Bake in a preheated oven at 200C for 2-3 minutes, turn and bake for another 2 mins…
  • Serve hot with more butter if you want

Misc5

And now to the event announcement, If you look around yourself  I can bet you won’t be able to find even one mom who is not always breaking her heads for finding new healthy lunchbox ideas, thats why I loved the idea of HLI event started by Mom Chef Kalyani.

This month from today to December 10th, I’ll be hosting this event and the theme I have chosen in Spinach, can it get healthier? So cook up you favourite spinach dish and send it to me quick

HLI Spinach Nov 2011

Some ground rules please Smile

  • Cook anything which spinach that can be sent in lunch boxes and send my way
  • Hyper link to this post and  Kalyani’s post
  • upto 2 archived entries are welcome, provided you re-post them with reference to this event.
  • Only vegetarian recipes eggs ofcourse are allowed
  • Non bloggers are also welcome to send in their entries to the following email ID
  • Send a mail with below mentioned information to this email ID : tales dot sinamon(at)gmail(dot)com
    • Your name
    • Your blog name and URL
    • Name of the recipe
    • Link to your post
    • Picture of the recipe (pls limit this to max 300 px)
  • Use of logo will be appreciated

6 comments on “Naan and HLI – Spinach an event announcement

  1. healthfoodtip (@healthfoodtip)
    November 14, 2011

    Loved this one. Awesome looking food and a great recipe! Thanks.

  2. Kalyani
    November 14, 2011

    Thanks for hosting Monika ! enjoy the event 🙂 I shall be sending some entries by you soon !

  3. Anita Menon
    November 17, 2011

    Love the nan and the polka dot plate.

  4. Kavi
    December 2, 2011

    I love your cool dough-maker! Naan has come out well.
    Happy Hosting!
    Will try to think of something. 🙂


    Kavi | Edible Entertainment
    Please do participate in my ongoing events:
    Jingle All The Way &
    Microwave Easy Cooking

  5. Killer On The Plate
    December 5, 2011

    I just feel like tearing some naan out of my screen.. it looks so delicious. I will try to come up with a spinach recipe soon. Does spinach have to be the main ingredient though?

  6. Pingback: Menu of the week 14th Sep and Recipe for Ragi Vermicelli | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2011 by in Indian Cuisine, Main Course and tagged , , , , , , , .

CAL Badge