Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Baked Ajwaini Fish | Arusuvai Friendship Chain

Some months back I had heard of the Arusuvai Chain through various bloggers and it seemed pretty interesting so I sent a mail to the organizers and a little while later Nisa mailed me saying that she is the one who will send me the package, I was delighted and wondering what will be the secret ingredient and the package arrived soon with guess what as the favorite ingredient, ajwain aka carom seeds. And along with that she sent me some delicious home made chocolates too which were devoured by the brat one after the other very quickly. Thank u so much Nisa

Now ajwain is something I use very regularly, put it every day in atta dough, used in anything that give a little gas so I was wondering what to make which will make the taste come out well and do justice to the secret ingredient, and that was when someone shared this and it seemed like a perfect thing to try with my fish.

Recipe : Bakes Ajwaini Fish (Adapted from Aayis Recipe)

What I used

  • 5-6 medium size fish fillets (I used white pompreft)
  • 2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp dried pudina
  • 2 tsp ginger-garlic paste
  • 1  tsp amchoor powder
  • 1 tsp ajwain(carom seeds)
  • pinch of nutmeg powder
  • Salt to taste
How I made it
  • Mix all ingredients apart from fish well together
  • Apply on the cleaned fish so that it coats it well
  • Cover and keep in the fridge for about 2 hours so that the flavors seep in and mix well
  • Bake in a preheated oven at about 150C for about 10 mins or till done
  • Enjoy with some green chutney and salad on the side for a wholesome meal or cut in small pieces and serve as a starter

7 comments on “Baked Ajwaini Fish | Arusuvai Friendship Chain

  1. Smitha
    May 13, 2011

    Monika, It sounds delicious! I so want to try this at home. I am just terrified of the fishy smell 😦 But this looks ultra tempting!

  2. Noodlehead
    May 13, 2011

    Drooooollllll! I have some kingfish…you think that will work for this?

  3. sayantani
    May 13, 2011

    lovely recipe Monika. love this idea of using ajwain in baked fish. will update the round up soon. am facing problem with blogger right now.

  4. UmaS
    May 18, 2011

    It just looks sooooooo delicious Monu…. 🙂 I too use ajwain a lot and I love its taste. 🙂

    This seems like a perfect weekend try-it-out recipe for me. 🙂

  5. meethimirchi
    May 31, 2011

    yummylicious 🙂 gonna try this one with Prawns 😀

  6. Pingback: Weekly Menu 27th July & Recipe Links | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2011 by in Baking, Starters and tagged , , , .

CAL Badge