Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Methi-Makki di roti

By now everyone who reads this blog knows how much I miss Delhi winters and if u read my list of things that I miss Sarsoon ka saag and makki ki roti is out at the top somewhere. Every year in winters (I know there are no winters in Bangalore, I meant Dec-Jan ok) I try and recreate their magic at home.. Sometimes I get fresh sarsoon and I am in seventh heaven and sometimes I dont… this year was the one where I didn’t. Anyone who can help me find fresh sarsoon in Bangalore will be treated with it cooked by me promise… Anyways even if I didn’t get sarsoon I thought there is nothing that stops me from making makki di roti and than I got fresh organic and home ground makki ka atta from the farm of the friend where we did camping for new years eve

IMG_2311

What I used

  • 1 cup maize flour
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh methi leaves
  • 1/2 tsp carom seeds/ajwain
  • salt to taste
  • warm water to make the dough
  • 1 tsp oil

How I made it

  • Mix all the ingredients together and add warm water little by little to make a soft dough, dont overknead the doguh if u do that the rotis will not be nice and soft (note this dough can’t be kept after making, so make it just before u start making)

IMG_2305

  • Now the thing with makki ki roti is the difficulty to roll it, u can’t easily roll it out so here is what I do

IMG_2306

  • Cut a zip pouch or any other polythene cover from all sides apart from one, place the dough ball in the middle and than roll it out. Don’t roll it out very thin. Its slightly thicker than the normal chapathi
  • Cook on a hot tava on both sides with 1tsp of oil
  • Enjoy hot as we didnt get sarsoon we had it with the next best thing,dal makhani and aalo roast

IMG_2312

And did u check out what my fellow foodie marathon buddies are upto? Priya Suresh,Jay, Valli, PJ, Priya Vaasu, Azeema, Reva,Ayeesha,Veena&Soumya.

7 comments on “Methi-Makki di roti

  1. Gayathri Kumar
    January 18, 2011

    Yummy roti. Book marked..

  2. Priya
    January 18, 2011

    Such a healthy and delicious roti..

  3. Aathira
    January 19, 2011

    Interesting method to roll the dough… should try this the next time I make Makki roti

  4. Writerzblock
    January 19, 2011

    I’m slurping as I read this, Mon. Please do post a recipe for dal makhani too, if u haven#t done so already 🙂

  5. Phoenixritu
    January 20, 2011

    Yeah, I make this the same way. I learnt this trick from an Afghani student. She loved methi pooris and made them using a polythene sheet

  6. seguro automovel
    March 31, 2011

    That is for sure a need to go through 🙂 , many thanks for sharing this facts i really recognize and will try out on my own diligences. thanks a bunch.

Leave a comment

CAL Badge