Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Palak Dhokla : A Reader Entry

I had plans to do the MEC Savory snacks round up today but than I recieved a mail from reader S saying that she knows that she is delayed but can I include this in the round up of MEC… and I said why not, so nice of you to send it anyways… I loved the dish for many reasons… one I love dhoklas (there must be something about it, this is the second dhokla entry for this event) two I think with a little tweak this will be a recipe I can eat anytime… high protien no carbs, veggies… perfect for a dieting breakfast 😀

Ok enough of my blabber and now over to S….

I have reading your blog for close to 2 years for now and I love the food you cook. I myself you Microwave a lot at home and Tarla Dalal recipes are what are my favorite as I am a vegetarian. So I am sending you a dhokhla from her book that we make a lot at home.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup besan
  • 1/2 cup palak puree
  • 1 teaspoon ginger-green chilli paste
  • 1/2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon fruit salt (eno)
  • salt to taste

for the tempering

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 2 green chillies, finely chopped
  • a pinch of hing
  • 1 tablespoon water

for the garnish

  • 1 tablespoon coriander

Method

  • Add all the ingredients to the palak puree and mix well to get a batter of dropping consistency
  • Pour into a greased microwave safe bowl with lid and microwave on HIGH for 3 minutes
  • Remove and let it stand for 2 minutes

For the tempering

  • Combine the oil and mustard seeds in a small microwave safe bowl and microwave on HIGH for 2 minutes
  • Add the green chillies and hing and microwave on HIGH for another 1 minute
  • Remove from microwave and add 1 tablespoon of water
  • Pour the tempering over the dhoklas and cut into square pieces (I anyways broke them while taking out)
  • Garnish with coriander and eat with green chutney or ketchup

Thank u so much S for this lovely recipe and this is my second post for the marathon

check out what my other fellow foodies are posting – Srivalli,  Jayashree , PJ, Revathi and Priya. I am so excited to be doing my first ever marathon on this blog with these fellow foodies…

9 comments on “Palak Dhokla : A Reader Entry

  1. Jayashree
    January 4, 2011

    Ready in 3 minutes??? Nice!!!

  2. Swaram
    January 4, 2011

    I luvvvv dhoklas too and this one is awesome!

  3. Srivalli
    January 4, 2011

    How wonderful of your reader Mons..looks great!

  4. azeeskitchen
    January 5, 2011

    This looks yummy n healthy!!

  5. Life Begins
    January 5, 2011

    I just made it and finished it in 5 min… It came out soooo gooood… And the spinach – being my favorite – added superb flavor. Loved it! Thankssssssssss! 🙂

    • monikamanchanda
      January 6, 2011

      wow u made it… so glad u like it… I will pass this info to S

  6. Pingback: MEC Roundup « Sin-A-Mon

  7. Aathira
    March 17, 2012

    Just tried this for breakfast today…came out real nice 🙂 Took me about 5 mins to cook the dhokla though… maybe variations due to dish depth etc…I also sprinkled a lil sugar on top… and it was real nice.

Leave a comment

CAL Badge