Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Oven Roasted Gobhi

So this morning when I suddenly came to know I have some guests coming over for dinner, I tweeted people asking for some quick to make dishes which are fancy too… most of the suggestions were something that I have already tired and than Chandhana sent me a tweet saying that try Oven Roasted cumin gobhi and from the first time I heard it I knew this is something I have to try, I asked her if she has a recipe and she sent me one in email… god bless her and the decision was made….

Does that look tempting enough? Let me tell you it was tastier than it looks… I did make a couple of changes to her recipe, major being I didnt parboil the gobhi before baking or oven roasting it as I like my gobhi a little crisp

What I used

  • 500g cauliflower head cut into florets
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
  • 2 teaspoons cumin seeds
  • salt to taste

How I made it

  • Mash or coarsely grind the spices using a mortar, dont use the mixer u will totally spoil the dish
  • Heat the olive oil and toss cauliflower florets into it, stir fry for abt a minute
  • Add spices to cauliflower, mix well
  • Arrange them in a single layer in a baking dish and bake in the top most rack of a pre heated oven at 200C for 20 mins…
  • Remove mix well again and put it back in for about 10 more mins… bingo its done

Can it get easier than this? This is the dish that absolutely signifies beauty in simplicity and trust me this is one of the best cauliflower dishes I have ever eaten… a recipe for keepsake

e check out my fellow marathon bloggers who have picked up varied different themes to give u amazing dishes for the next one week…. Champa,Divya,Gayathri Anand,Gayathri Kumar,Padma Dharmaraj,Savitha, Smitha, Srivalli, Usha, Veena AravindPJ

 

23 comments on “Oven Roasted Gobhi

  1. champa
    March 4, 2011

    I usually do this with broccoli. Looks great.

  2. divya
    March 4, 2011

    wow….gr8 gobi dish…..pic looks good..feel like having it…

  3. Smitha
    March 5, 2011

    healthy and yummy!…looks great!
    Smitha
    Smitha’s Spicy Flavors

    • monikamanchanda
      March 5, 2011

      thanks smitha these are some of the simple recipes that I abs adore 🙂

  4. Pixie
    March 5, 2011

    ohh!! so that’s what the gobhi was for!! 😀
    🙂 🙂
    delciious! 😀

  5. savitha
    March 5, 2011

    very healthy way to start off a party…..loving ur gobhi.

  6. padma
    March 5, 2011

    Simple and delicious

  7. Pavani
    March 5, 2011

    I like roasted gobhi better than sautéed gobhi. Roasting brings out so much more flavor. Try adding some chopped onions to the mix and the roasted onions will make the dish even more yummy. Lovely pics. Enjoy ur weekend.

    • monikamanchanda
      March 5, 2011

      u know I was thinking abt adding onions but somehow stopped next time I will

  8. Gayathri kumar
    March 5, 2011

    Looks tasty..

  9. UmaS
    March 5, 2011

    WOW !!! U tempt everyone with ur dishes…this is no exception…. 🙂

  10. Srivalli
    March 5, 2011

    Mons, now that sure looks tempting! With cauliflower in season this recipe comes handy!

  11. champa
    March 5, 2011

    Tomatillo is of the family goose berry. So, if you can get gooseberry, you can use that. Or use green tomato and increase the lime juice.
    Lot of people click on the comment, but never it comes. Don’t know if it is the word verification or just the blogger issue.

  12. Gayathri
    March 6, 2011

    Healthy and looks yummy ..

  13. usha
    March 6, 2011

    I have seem baked cauliflower recipe some where and bookmarked it. After seeing yours, I think it is about time I try baked gobhi! Looks delicious!

  14. Pingback: Menu of the week 20th July & recipe links | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2011 by in Indian Cuisine, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .

CAL Badge