Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Easiest and yummiest ever rice

It was ages back I had bookmarked this recipe of Corrainder rice to try and as usual the poor bookmark got hidden somewhere in my habit of bookmarking almost every other dish that I see on the blogs… so day before yesterday when I actually had very few vegetables at home but still didn’t want to go out to eat and also didn’t want to eat the standard routine stuff, I thought about having a look at my bookmarked recipes and here I found this gem again… easy and yummmy…. and luckily I had loads of coriander at home 😀

What I used

  • Basamati Rice – 1 cup (I think any rice would work)
  • Salt to taste

To be ground into paste

  • Coriander leaves – 1/2 cup
  • Onion – 1 small
  • Green Chillies – 2 or 3 depending on how spicy u want the rice
  • Garlic pod – 1 (garlic is my latest obsession and from not eating garlic at all to putting in all almost all dishes I have come a long way since my wedding)

For the seasoning

  • Oil – 1 tsp
  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Channa dal – 1 tsp
  • Urad dal – 1 tsp
  • Curry leaves a handful
  • And some fresh coriander leaves for garnishing

How I made this

  • Cook the basamati rice just enough as you want to, I pressure cooked them with 1:1.5 times water for one whistle
  • Grind all the ingredients for the paste together
  • Heat oil in a pan add mustard seeds to it, let it crackle
  • Add curry leaves, dry red chillis, urad dal and channa dal. Roast for 2 minutes till the dal turns slightly brown
  • Add the grinded mixture and cook for 2 minutes. Cool a little and add to the boiled rice
  • Garnish with fresh coriander leaves and bingo its ready to be eaten… isnt it easy?

And I swear it was yummy there was this lovely flavor of dhaniya which I simply love…. we had it with mix veg raita and it was a yumm meal and I think this would be a great dish for a party buffet… simple but still adds that little extra than the plain white rice

This is off to the lovely event Anyone Can cook

And also to the event Only Greens hosted by Sara this month and started by Pari

17 comments on “Easiest and yummiest ever rice

  1. Writerzblock
    December 23, 2010

    Looks really yummy and healthy too. Will certainly try this out sometime!

  2. nags
    December 24, 2010

    yay! so glad you liked it 🙂

  3. Swaram
    December 24, 2010

    This is a fav @ home 🙂 We all luv it too 🙂

  4. Sunita(Poppy)
    December 24, 2010

    I make this rice at the drop of the hat. So simple ! Infact have made it tonight as well 🙂

  5. shail
    December 24, 2010

    This one is sure to be loved by all. Coriander leaves is a personal fav too. 🙂

  6. Munchkins Mom
    December 25, 2010

    oh nice! i make coriander rice as accompaniment to chicken curry etc- ghee, zeera, basmati rice and when its gets cooked add chopped coriander to the hot rice. The heat of the rice cooks the coriander just enough but still maintains the texture and freshness..

    • monikamanchanda
      December 28, 2010

      that method sounds nice too and with chicken curry let me try it out next time

  7. Umm Mymoonah
    December 27, 2010

    Must be full of flavours with coriander, looks yummy. Thank you for linking with Any One Can Cook.

  8. R's Mom
    December 27, 2010

    Just wanted to say a quick thanks for the recipe..made it on Friday night when I was late from work and didnt even take me 10 minutes to do the stuff and put it in the cooker 🙂 thank u thank u thank u oh and it was definitely loved by R and her dad!

  9. Life Begins
    January 6, 2011

    And yess.s…i tried it too. YUMMMM..
    I just added bit extra garlic 😉
    Love all green things 🙂
    Thanks a lot

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 23, 2010 by in Indian Main Course and tagged , , , , , .

CAL Badge