Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Sandwich Break

I love sandwiches, the very fact that you can make a sandwich as healthy or as sinful as you want :D.. Also you can eat them at any time of the time.. breakfast, snacks, dinner… Isn’t that versatile.

I am eating a lot of sandwiches for breakfast these days however I find very less recipes that can suit my requirements these days viz no cheese, no butter, no potatoes but still tasty 🙂 A lot surfing, a little bit from this recipe, a lit bit from that and I have discovered my own set of such healthy and low cal sandwich recipes. Here are the two which are my favourite.

Avanti hopefully you can use them for your snacks too and Sols hope peanut likes them too.. Let me try and do some recipes that I make for Ojas next week :D, only point is that I will have to click pics

Green Peas and Roasted Tomato Sandwich

Ingredients

  • 4 slices of whole wheat/multigrain bread
  • 1 cup shelled and boiled peas
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1 tomato
  • Green Chutney/ cheese spread
  • Grated cheese (optional)
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp red chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 flakes of garlic

Method

  • Mash the green peas coarsely by either a masher or in the mixer
  • Cut the onions and mix the masalas, green peas and onions together
  • Cut the tomatoes in round, place them on a microwave friendly plate and microwave on HIGH for abour 4 mins
  • Sprinkle the oregano and garlic flakes on top of the tomatoes
  • Put the microwave on convection/grill and roast for about 5 mins
  • Spread green chutney on one side of two slices, for kids or for those who like and can afford cheese use cheese spread 🙂
  • Put a layer of green peas stuffing on the bread and put 2-3 roasted tomatoes on the top, u can also top it with grated cheese if u want
  • Grill it or roast it on the tava
  • Repeat with the other two slices

31072009

31072009(001)

PS: pls excuse the qaulity of the above pics… taken from N’s lousy cell camera 🙂

Its an absolutely yummilicious sandwich and very healthy because of the nutrients used.

Dahi Walla Sandwich

Ingredients

  • 4 whole wheat/multigrain bread slices
  • 1 cup curd
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 carrot grated
  • 1/2 cup grated cabbage
  • 1/2 tsp red chilli flakes
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg/cinnamon powder

Method

  • Hang the curd in a muslin cloth for about half an hour so that the whey drains out

DSC06047

  • Mix all the ingredients along with the curd drained of whey
  • Put some mixture into the slices and grill or roast on tava

DSC06049

DSC06050

DSC06050

I really love this sandwich, I used to love mayo based sandwich but since I cant have it now I found this closer and healthier option. Personally I think that curd is the best way to have milk based products. Extremely healthy, maximum amount of calcium and great bacteria for the stomach..

59 comments on “Sandwich Break

  1. Crafty Shines
    September 4, 2009

    tera karoooo
    tera karooo gin gin gin intezaaar!
    aaja piya aayi bahar!!!!!!!

    FIRST

    • Mohan
      September 4, 2009

      ok.. enjoy the short glory… be ready for next time 🙂

      • monikamanchanda
        September 6, 2009

        ROFL…

        u missed it the next time too mohan

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      he he

      ek do teen

      no no

      ek ek ek

      😀

  2. Crafty Shines
    September 4, 2009

    LOVELY MONU!!!!

    this is just perfect!!!

    btw!!!!! what is all this food pics doing the rounds on blogs!!!

    go see tara’s blog….. there was a flood in my office due to me drooling! 😆

    the peas n tomato grill is really nice!!! i will definitely try it monu! i am SOOPER partial to grilled sandwiches! Veg cheese grilled is my ultimate fav!!! even more than chaat! 😀

    the curd based spread sandwich!!!!!!!!!! monu! u solved an issue here! i swear! i can’t keep myself from mayo, but i do love curds, so i am hoping i will like this substitution!! 😀 😀 😀

    it sure loooks yum!!! but will have to be eaten as soon as prepared na? or it will be soggy! i think this is what i’ll make for breakfast sun morn!! 😀 😀
    hugs!!!!!!!!!

    I think that curd is the best way to have milk based products. Extremely healthy, maximum amount of calcium and great bacteria for the stomach..

    i agree! 😀 i love it!

    • hitchwriter
      September 4, 2009

      seriously what is happening… Shilpa.. Tara… Monu… !!!!!!!!

      you all make me so so so so so hungry…

      • monikamanchanda
        September 4, 2009

        people its a weekly feature for me dont blame me 😀

      • shilpadesh
        September 4, 2009

        I love this! We should have food pics everyday so that Hitchu gets troubled 😀

      • Rakesh
        September 5, 2009

        all women have gone crazy now, they’re preparing food only to click it and post it here…

        In all this, the husbands are having a blast!!!

      • hitchwriter
        September 5, 2009

        wish our wive’s were into blogging huh Rakesh what say ?

      • Rakesh
        September 6, 2009

        he he… Agree!

      • monikamanchanda
        September 6, 2009

        LOL u guys are too much

      • monikamanchanda
        September 6, 2009

        here u will find it every friday… check my friday feast page

      • monikamanchanda
        September 6, 2009

        oh yes shilps I agree.. lets torture the men 😀

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      yes yes I saw and drooled what gulab jamuns yaar 😦

      yes me loves grilled sandwiches too

      and tell me how u like then haan

  3. Mohan
    September 4, 2009

    Good one… Will try this out over the weekend. some information on how many calories it will add would be a good piece of info too 🙂

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      thats a good idea Mohan… let me see if I can do that next time

  4. Passionate Goof
    September 4, 2009

    Yummy Mon. I am definitely trying these out. The look really really delicious.

  5. hitchwriter
    September 4, 2009

    Does the Dahi wala sandwich really taste great ???

    i love sandwiches… probably second only to pizza’s…

    and i religiously use your recipe’s…. !!

    tell me GURU !!

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      he he GURU monika is happy!!!

      oh yes try it hitchy its yummy

  6. Meira
    September 4, 2009

    I survived on sandwiches for 4 days..now you know why 😛
    But these are great ideas. I made corn-cheese, onion-capsicum-tomato-cheese and paneer-tomato 😛

  7. Indian Homemaker
    September 4, 2009

    I too am a sandwich person 🙂 Loved the dahi wala sandwich! I agree curd is the best way to have milk, and all the reasons for it!! I am trying this one tomorrow!! You have explained it well Monika !

  8. Indian Homemaker
    September 4, 2009

    Loved the first sandwich too (yes I read the second recipe first:) )… I love loads of greens and fresh veggies.

  9. shilpadesh
    September 4, 2009

    They look and sound yumm Monu. I am going to try the dahi wala! Have you tried onion, tomato, cucumber slices with lots of green chutney?

  10. Neha
    September 5, 2009

    I looovvvvvveeeeeeeee sandwiches! i can eat them any time! mostly coz they r soooo easy to make! and hey mom makes the dahi wala sandwich too 🙂

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      yes I hear u there… mostly they are very easy to make 😀

  11. Parul Jain
    September 5, 2009

    Wow, Monika !! Even I love sandwiches. And these are great for my son’s lunch box too . I’ll definitely give it a try with him over the weekend.

  12. Hurricane C
    September 5, 2009

    Dahiwala s/w looks good. I also like grated carrots/thinly sliced cucumbers with cream cheese(low fat hi sahi) and some chaat masala. Yum!

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      thanks and welcome here

      I like the grated carrots one I used to have it with cheese spread before and know I have it with green chutney… try adding some onions too that

  13. renu
    September 5, 2009

    These curd sandwiches are the favourites of my whole family:)

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      wow!! I didnt know so many people make it… I discovered it on a site on day

  14. SMM
    September 5, 2009

    I’l try out the first one sometime soon…can’t have the second one cuz I’m allergic to curd, which means no mishti doi for this Bong either 😦

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      now that is sad… a bong and no mishti… never mind pass all of it here

      I love mishti

  15. mandira
    September 5, 2009

    i like ur matar-tamator sandwich.. my mom used to make that dahi wala sandwich long, long back..its been ages since we had them… thanks for refreshing my memory!:D

  16. Swaram
    September 5, 2009

    Yum! But I wanna hv them now 😛 Pls pass on na Monu 😉

  17. Pixie
    September 6, 2009

    Ahem!
    You know now, how much I like sandwiches!! 😀

    BUT, I do love a sinful cheese sandwich! A peanut butter sandwich is my all-time fave.

    I will try the green peas wala sandwich.
    But, the dahi one? Is it that good? I mean as yummy as your pic?!! 😀

    Will try ’em out for sure.
    yum!

    • monikamanchanda
      September 6, 2009

      he he me too

      I also like cheesy sandwiches but these because of diet I cant eat them… so inventing 😀

      haan try it was mooost delicious atleast me and everyone here liked it

      But I know what u mean, I was also surprised when I first read of it… but was most delicious

  18. Reema
    September 6, 2009

    Dahi sandwich??? Errr …

  19. umsreflections
    September 6, 2009

    You have given me two great ideas for packing lunch !!! Cheers !!!

    It looks super yummy – let me try it and see.

    Are u on a diet or what ???

    • monikamanchanda
      September 7, 2009

      he he try and let me know how it was 😀

      ya i am on a diet and fitness program, trying to lose weight

      read my post with Weight loss tag

  20. Abha
    September 7, 2009

    yum yum yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    even me loove sandwiches and wanna keep trying all this stuff! will try your recipes soooon!

    cheers!

  21. myamusingmind
    September 7, 2009

    Yummy ideas!!

  22. Just call me A
    September 9, 2009

    Monix…you have sooo many new post up…i was alway only for the weekend. the sandwich looks yummy……………..

  23. Tara
    September 28, 2009

    I tried the curd-cabbage-carrot in hot dog bun. Removed onions and added olives(both green n black), pickled baby cucumber and lil bit of dried apricot and cheese. It was superb. No less than a subway sandwich.

    thanks monu 🙂 for the simple yet innovative changes..

    • monikamanchanda
      September 28, 2009

      wow I am glad u liked it!!!

      i use olives too at times and also jalapenos…. apricot and cheese sound like a good idea… let me try it in N’s

  24. priyaiyer
    April 25, 2010

    hey, i tried out the dahi sandwich and everyone in the family liked it quite a bit. thanks for the recipe! 🙂
    i never knew dahi could be used in sandwiches before this! 🙂

  25. Pingback: Menu of the week 3rd August & Recipe Links | Sin-A-Mon Tales

  26. Pingback: Menu of the week 31st August & Recipe Links | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2009 by in Uncategorized.

CAL Badge