Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Breakfast Like a King

Is what we did when we were in Chennai particularly when we went to  Murugan Idli Shop. Chennai according to me is the land of idly dosa specially when one compares it to what you get in Bangalore. I love Bangalore but lets face it the sambhar here sucks (apologies to those who love it). When I eat here I look for places which serve Chennai kind of sambhar. So for me trip to Chennai apart from the usual relative and friend meeting is the trip to gorge on idli, dosa and tons of sambhar, the minute we started planning for a Chennai trip my mind starts parallely planning for when can I go to Murugan Idli and can I squeeze more than one visit there…

I was in Chennai for 3 days and had 2 mornings for breakfast and in my mind had planned it for both the days 😉 unfortunately the first day didnt happen as we went to the beach at 5am in the morning and were really hungry at 7am but the shop opens only at 8 so that day we had our breakfast at Hot Chips which is not too bad in itself but really can’t be compared to the Murugan idli.

So the next day morning promptly at 9am, 4 hungry souls reached the shop and after a little wait grabbed a seat, I say grabbed a seat because that’s what we literary did, N saw one table with banana leaves folded and declared this is where we have to sit and we all promptly plonked ourselves there, after 2 minutes came a family who had just finished eating and gone to wash their hands, had ordered coffee too, it was a totally facepalm moment I tell you. Luckily they were nice people and said they didn’t want the coffee anyways and went off without us having to get up and stand in the waiting queue which was beginning to form outside.

We started with the customary idli wada, sambhar and various chutneys…

And if I say they are best idlies I have ever eaten in my life, trust me there is no exaggeration involved and this when the idlies in my house are pretty soft. But these are just melt in your mouth kind of idlies, but let me warn you addictive very addictive, like N says that you keep on eating them because one gets over before you even realise. The vada is crisp with little bit of chilli and pepper inbetween just as it should be.  The four chutneys that they were finger licking yummm, the sambhar perfect tam sambhar just rightly spiced but if you ask me for the star of the accompaniments its the podi that he serves with gingely oil, spicy smooth and totally different from what one usually gets as a podi everywhere… I wonder if he would have given me the recipe if I asked I have been dreaming about it ever since

if u ask me I could go on and on eating the idlies if not for the other things on the menu the yummy all time favorite of everyone the masala dosa

We also eat a plate of pongal and two plates of paniyarams between the 3.5 of us but we were in such a hurry to eat that we forgot to click pictures of them also I was afraid that one of the other two will actually hit me if I dont let me eat and keep clicking pics 😛 with a satisfied and very very full stomach we ordered the brilliantly tasting filter coffee and not to be missed at any cost chakra pongal (the sweet jaggery pongal) and that could have been the only way to finish the super awesome breakfast that we had

If you are in Chennai this is certainly a place you should not miss at any cost, I guarantee you the breakfast you will always remember 🙂

And dear Deej this post is for you darling, not just one dosa I eat many things in your name 😛

23 comments on “Breakfast Like a King

  1. Deej
    April 28, 2011

    You beauty! You made Murugan Idli come alive for me and bless you for that!
    Your menu list tallies perfectly with what I end up gorging whenever I land up there, which is every time I go to the beach. As my folks live 5 mins away from the Beach, that is at least once a week. Drool worthy eh? Breakfast like Kings indeed!

    • monikamanchanda
      April 30, 2011

      aaaw thank u deej darling the time when u eat this is not very far now

  2. Aathira
    April 28, 2011

    Oh Monika… this is just heavenly.

    I need to have lots of masala dosas now…craving alert !!

  3. Raji
    April 29, 2011

    I am drooling here looking at the breakfast platter…have been umpteen times to chennai but never visited murugan idly shop…don;t know which era have I been living. Next time this is going to be first stop for me in chennai.

  4. Ekta
    April 29, 2011

    We were in Chennai for almost 9 months in 2006-7 & lived v close to Besant Nagar beach & ofcourse Murugan Idli Shop was our fav fav place to eat.

    I’ve said this to a lot of ppl Monika, that Chennai sambhar is much much better than the Blr one.

    Your post took me back to such wonderful memories I have of Chennai….pre-baby days, beaches…..

    btw, have to been to Rangoli in T-Nagar?

    • monikamanchanda
      April 29, 2011

      see so many people agree abt the sambhar 🙂 glad u enjoyed the post

      rangoli is good? must visit it next time I am in chennai

  5. UmaS
    April 29, 2011

    WOW !! Such yummylicious pics. 🙂 Certainly Chennai sambar is better than Blore or Hyd – even I am not so fond of those sambars, when compared to the Chennai ones.

    Gud u ate at Murugan Idly – the best bfast shop in town. 🙂

    • monikamanchanda
      April 29, 2011

      🙂 oh this is the 4-5 time I am eating there I make sure I never miss it when I am chennai 🙂

  6. Phoenixritu
    April 29, 2011

    You made me crave for vada sambhar and idli, and it is just 11 in the morning. I’m gonna make them for dinner

  7. thepickyeater
    April 29, 2011

    u know i live at madras…but not been here !! good post 🙂 happy to have found your blog !

  8. B o o.
    April 30, 2011

    wow wow! im drooling! I LOVE the onion oothappam there. Dont know if they serve it for breakfast. But I ll sell my soul for those awesome crispy crisp oothappams. And Im not even that big a oothappam fan, mind you! nothing like it anywhere!

    btw, Grand sweets sells a kick-ass ready made Idli Milagai Podi! yum!

    • monikamanchanda
      April 30, 2011

      must try the onion othappam next time N is a big uthapam fan so I am sure he will love it

      and thanks for the tip I just sent a mail to my cousin who keeps coming to blore often to bring a packet next time 😀

  9. Pingback: Incredible India | Post 5 | Monika's World

  10. Writerzblock
    May 7, 2011

    OMG How did I miss this post!! Mmmm… the pics are making me drooool!!!!!

  11. yaadayaada
    May 13, 2011

    Its 5pm. Time to leave for work and I am hungry. All I have at home is some leftovers for dinner. And then I bloghop and land here. Why? God? Why?

  12. Pingback: Monika Manchanda of Monika's World & Child Sexual Abuse Awareness Blog interviewed

  13. Pingback: Chennai Chronicles 3 | Monika's World

  14. Pingback: Chennai Chronicles 5 | Monika's World

  15. Free Spirit
    August 11, 2011

    Hey do try the Andhra meals in Pondy Bazaar, just opposite Big Bazaar next time, serves typical spicy andhra food.

    And we love the sambar here too, my husband says he can even swim in chennai sambar. 😛

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2011 by in review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .

CAL Badge