Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Rui Maacher Jhol – Bengali Style Rohu Fish Curry

Sometime Longtime ago in my one and only trip to the city of Joy, the darling friend of mine Bee, had gifted me this gorgeous and brilliant “The Bengal CookBook”

photo

I find this so funny, but in the recent past the gifts that I have got from my online friends represent me more than the gifts that friends who know me from forever have given me, I sit and wonder what does it really mean… Nonetheless, back to the book… I use it a lot these days and have made many dishes using it but if there is single most loved dish I make from here its the Rui Maacher Curry, also callled as Carp Curry in the book

DSC_0167

Its a recipe I now know by heart 🙂

Rui Maacher Jhol (served 3 of us well)

Recipe Source – The Bengal CookBook by Minakshie Das Gupta

What I used

250 gms rohu fish

4 potatoes, peeled and quartered

1 onion, sliced

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp ginger paste

1/2 tsp garlic paste

1 onion, ground to a paste

4 bay leaves

1/2 tsp garam masala

oil for frying fish and potatoes

1 tbsp ghee

How I made it

Cut and clean fish well (I asked my fish vendor to cut in curry style)

Rub the fish with a little turmeric and salt and fry in really hot oil until lightly browned (I shallow fried the fish). Fry the potatoes in the same oil till just brown. Discard the rest of the oil

Heat ghee in the same pan, add bay leaves and garam masala. Fry for a couple of minutes and then add the sliced onions. Fry for another 4-5 minutes till browned

Add all the masalas pastes including onion

Fry for about 5-8 minutes till the masalas have all cooked and browned a bit, sprinkle water if necessary

Add 2 cups of water, stir and add the fried potatoes. Cover and simmer till potatoes are two-thirds done

Stir in the fish and simmer until both the fish and potatoes are cooked.

Serve hot with steamed rice

DSC_0172

4 comments on “Rui Maacher Jhol – Bengali Style Rohu Fish Curry

  1. roodonfood
    March 12, 2013

    Thanks for posting this. I own the book but haven’t tried the recipes. I appreciate your blog. Cheers.

  2. justagirlfromaamchimumbai
    March 13, 2013

    Monika, coincidentally I gifted this book to myself two weeks ago and was waiting to try something. I am a huge bengali food fan and your post is a sign that I need to make something from the book 🙂 Guess it is time.

  3. deepthi
    July 3, 2013

    It didnt turn out good 😦 There was not even a little spice…Was it necessary to add chilli powder or green chilli or red chilli anywhere?

  4. Pingback: Menu of the week 3rd August & Recipe Links | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2013 by in Indian Cuisine, Indian Main Course and tagged , , , , , , .

CAL Badge