Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Give your Day a kickstart

I personally think (and its proven as well) that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. A good healthy and nutritious breakfast, half the problems are solved :) So this Friday let me focus on some yummy and nutritious breakfasts… yeah yeah u got it right, I am posting multiple recipes here. There are so many recipes I want to post and so little Fridays ;-)

Sprouts Dhokla

Sprouts is a food whose goodness has been emphasized on this blog too often ;) I love sprouts in any form and the fact that they are yummilicous too adds to it. Also sprouts have a distinct flavor that suddenly gives any dish a pep up. I saw this sprouts dhokla recipe in one of the magazines (I think Food lovers) long long back and since then I have been making this at home quite often. Easy, yummy, healthy and low cal…. Can we ask for anything else ?

Ingredients

  • 100 gm gram flour
  • 200 gm sprouted bean sprouts, pureed
  • 1 cup curd blended
  • 1 tsp green chilli paste
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp eno fruit salt
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp oil
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • for the tempering
    • 1 tsp mustard seeds
    • 2 tsp oil
    • 3-4 green chillies slit vertically
    • coriander and curry leaves for garnish

Method

  • In a bowl mix gram flour, curd, pureed sprouts and water to form a smooth batter of thick consistency. Add salt, mix and set aside for 4 hours covered with a lid (I left it overnight)
  • Add the green chilli paste (the original recipe also asks for ginger paste which I skipped I really dont know why), turmeric to the batter and mix well
  • Keep the steamer or cooker ready on the burner and grease ur steaming dish (I have a lovely dhokla maker at home… basically its a stack of three steel plates which go in the cooker, just like idly plates… so helpful)
  • Mix eno, oil and lemon juice. Add the mixture to the batter and mix well
  • Pour in the steaming dish and steam for about 10-12 mins or till done. Cool completely before taking out and cut in big cubes
  • For the tempering, heat the oil in a small pan. Add mustard seeds, when they splutter add the curry leaves and green chillies.
  • Fry for a minute and pour over the dhokla, garnish with coriander and serve with green chutney

Green Oat Cakes

or in simple language pan fried oat cutlets ;-)

Oats is such a healthy grain. I simply love it (atleast in my mind I think I should love it ;-) ) but none in my house even touches the oats porridge however tasty I make it by adding fruits, dry fruits, anything… everyone refuses to touch it. :( So I am on the constant lookout of Oats recipes… and when I stumbled upon this one yes yes Nita Mehta’s book again (gosh I have fallen in love with her… her recipes always always work) I was delighted… and when I made it the MNO household was delighted too… the servings for 4 was polished off by 2.5 of us in 10 minutes :D

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oats – roasted in a kadhai for 5 minutes on low heat till golden
  • 1/2 cup boiled peas
  • 1 cup chopped spinach
  • 1 green chilli – chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh coriander
  • 1 tsp finely chopped ginger
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp lemon juic
  • 1 tsp oil

Method

  • Wash spinach and put in a kadhai. Cover and cook on low heat for 5 minutes
  • Add 1 green chilli and chopped corainder. Add the roasted oats and mix well
  • Put in a grinder and grind to a rough paste. Add all the other ingredients.
  • Add 4-4 tbsp of water to make the mixture bind together.
  • Add lemon juice to taste.
  • Divide into 8-10 balls depending on what size u want. Flatten them a little. Pan fry in a non-stick pan in 1 tsp oil till golden brown. Serve hot with ketchup and salad.

And while we are at oats one of my favorite breakfasts.. oats dosa or crepe whatever u want to call it ;-)

Oats Dosa

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/4 semolina (sooji)
  • 1/4 cup wheat flour (atta)
  • 1/2 cup curd
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 green chilli chopped (or alternatively put a little red chilli powder)
  • 1 bunch methi leaves chopped ( u can use any other vegie also if u like)
  • handful of chopped coriander
  • salt to taste
  • oil/ghee/butter for making dosa

Method

  • Mix all the ingredients together and set aside for half an hour
  • Spread on the tava to make like dosa’s using oil, ghee, butter or if the non stick tava is nice than it will come with anything too
  • cook both sides till golden brown and serve with chutney’s of ur choice

So what tell me what are your favorite breakfast recipes?

And on a side note one item has been ticked in my wishlist… I got a Canon SX 200IS yesterday and I have been supremely happy till now… hopefully u guys will get better food pics now, from such a long time the only camera I had was my cellphone one….

38 comments on “Give your Day a kickstart

  1. Swaram
    March 26, 2010

    The green oat cakes look yum .. wil try out this weekend :)
    I luv Nita Mehta too .. her Mexican cookbook is my latest first luv :P

    • Swaram
      March 26, 2010

      I hv the same blue plates too :P :P

    • monikamanchanda
      March 29, 2010

      so did u try it

      i have heard so much abt that one but i dont have it… how come no posting than?

  2. Tara
    March 26, 2010

    Interesting breakfast ideas monika..
    you know, during the 9 days fast that ended 2 days back, i was actually missing my breakfast.
    I keep a stock of cornflakes mixed with muesli, dried fruits, nut, raisins & some kind of wheat puffs or balls and love having it with fresh fruits, dates etc in warm or cold milk.
    Works well for the lazy bones that we are.. & for the days I feel charged up I open your blog to look for ideas so this post is gonna be important for me.

    • monikamanchanda
      March 29, 2010

      i know that used to be our standard breakfast when i was working, now also most of the weekdays its that just on the weekends i expriment

  3. Rajlakshmi
    March 26, 2010

    yummy yummy yummy slurrrpppppp :D
    I am gonna try that :D

  4. 2Bs mommy
    March 27, 2010

    Yum yum yum. Nice breakfast ideas !! Will bookmark it.

  5. Goofy Mumma
    March 27, 2010

    These are really healthy recipes Monu. Lovely! I will try out pakke se, just should wake up early enough, n have the patience to make it. Steaming is something I still need to learn to do properly!!!!!!
    And a BIG congrats on the lens. Yay!

  6. Pixie
    March 27, 2010

    I agree that breakfast is the most important meal! :)

    I will try out your recipes too :)
    I don’t like Oats either!! but, these recipes look easy to make and eat! ;)

  7. Phoenixritu
    March 27, 2010

    Good ones Monika, you are really creative and your recipes are easy to follow

  8. Reema
    March 27, 2010

    congrats on the new camera!! :)

  9. hitchwriter
    March 27, 2010

    :P :P :P :P :P

    • monikamanchanda
      March 29, 2010

      what kind of comment is this hitchy

      sigh

      anyways :P :P :P in return ;-)

  10. Hitesh
    March 27, 2010

    uuummmm………everything looks so good…….i’m missing “Ghar Ka Khana” ….fed up with eating outside……and from strangers……..

    and yea…..being a guy……….i can’t cook…. :)

    • monikamanchanda
      March 29, 2010

      yeah now thats not correct… guys do cook well

      go ahead and try ur hand at something

  11. Pal
    March 28, 2010

    Wah wah Mon! Mighty impressed :-))

  12. Janit
    March 28, 2010

    Beautiful breakfast photographs……makes me hungry.

  13. Mohan
    March 28, 2010

    Yummy… healthy yet tasty. Great going monika! thanks for sharing the recipes once again.

  14. Pingback: aquariums

  15. tikulicious
    March 29, 2010

    Thanks Monika for posting these mouth watering recipes. I will try them very soon. Oats are my favorites too. Never knew one could churn out such healthy dishes from it.
    Pix are lovely .. hungry now. :D

    looked through the other recipes too. Awesome collection. Keep sharing .

  16. UmaS
    March 30, 2010

    Hey !!! Nice idea to finish off the big packet of oats, I have. Thank you. :)

    Dhokla is my fav – must try it with sprouts. WOW, Monu, you are fab with recipes. :)

    • monikamanchanda
      April 1, 2010

      yeah me too has the biggest pack of oats lying at home i am finishing it off like this only

  17. Mamma Mia! Me a Mamma?!?
    March 30, 2010

    Mon, these are amazing! I’m an oats hater too, despite knowing how healthy they are for you. Tell me which oats you use? Are Quaker Oats okay?

  18. Kalyan
    May 18, 2010

    Hi, first time here. Yes we have both the blue plates and the white one too. Congrats on the camera. Incidentally I just had a sprout salad while reading this.

    I am just not a morning person so breakfasts on the way to work are toast and fried eggs or yogurt and muesli. My wife and I go to coffee shops on weekends for breakfast. There are quite a few nice ones close by and that’s one part of the week that we look forward to

  19. Anand
    October 10, 2010

    Hi…those were some nice recipe you’ve posted here. Since you know about chutney, you should also be knowing Sambar! Well, I’m running a contest for “Best Sambar” in my blog. If you have an interesting recipe, which will make my Sambar taste different (but it should be Sambar and Veg of course!) , please do post your link on my blog. No big prizes in offer, but a “Best Sambar” badge from me!
    http://sambarman.blogspot.com/2010/10/best-sambar-contest.html
    All the best and following you for more interesting recipes…

  20. Pingback: The year that went by and the year to come « Sin-A-Mon

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2010 by in Uncategorized.

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,415 other followers

