Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Perfect Pound Cake with Dulche de Leche | Sweet Punch Baking

So I made the perfect pound cake yesterday evening for Sweet Punch’s July baking and it was a good thing because I have made a pound cake after ages. Ofcourse I started my cake baking by everyone’s favorite pound cake and later as I started to bake more healthy stuff less butter, more wheat flour rather than all purpose flour, pound cake got lost somewhere and man was it good to remember it again heck it was. Sinful to the core and I made it even more sinful with topping it with homemade Dulche de Leche. One is allowed to forget about calories once in a while isn’t it. *goes off to survive on salad and sprouts for a day to make up :P*

The cake was dense and crumbly just as it was supposed to be…

The recipe of cake is taken from the The Cake Bible (a book I have been wanting to lay my hands on BTW)…  here is the recipe just as mentioned on the sweet punch blog

Ingredients

3 tablespoons Milk

3 large Eggs
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla
1 ½ cups sifted cake flour
¾ cup sugar
¾ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
13 Tablespoons unsalted butter, softened [184 gms]
Directions
Preheat your oven to 350 F. Butter an 8 inch by 4 by 2.5 inch loaf pan, or any six cup loaf or fluted tube pan.
Lightly whisk together milk, eggs and vanilla in a medium bowl.
Place dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix on low speed for 30 seconds, until blended. Add the butter and half the egg mixture, and mix until dry ingredients are moistened. On medium speed, beat for one minute. This will aerate and develop the cake’s structure. Scrape down sides.
Add the remaining egg mixture in two batches, beating for 20 seconds between each addition. Scrape down sides.
Pour batter into prepared pan. Smooth surface with a spatula. Bake for 55-65 minutes (35-45 minutes if baking in a fluted tube pan), until a wooden toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cake cool on a rack in the pan for 10 minuets before inverting onto a greased wire rack. If using a loaf pan, flip the cake over so the top is up.

For making Cake flour at home – Take one cup of all purpose flour and remove 2 tbsp from it.Replace the 2 tbsp flour with cornflour and sift together 2-3 times.Cake flour is ready to use.

I followed the recipe fully this time (surprise 🙂 ) just added 1/2 tsp of cardomom powder and 1 tsp pf lemond zest. he he suprise over 😀 I did get a crack on top but apart from that the cake was pretty good tasting and perfect

And for the Dulche De Luche I followed purple foodie’s recipe, took a can of milkmaid and immersed in water bath for about 3 hours while it simmered (I made it on my induction stove on the least power) , I added a vanilla bean and a little rock salt to it. Though it didn’t turn out perfect and as creamy it should have been. If u see the below picture one lump got formed in the tin while it was cooking and whatever I did it didn’t smoothen out fully. Anyone know why could that lump have been there? Did I open the tin too much?  Inspite of that the taste was to die for, after I took the stuff out of the tin both N and Ojas sat and licked it clean 😉 I am gonna try making it again soon and if u guys have any input please to give it.

So all in all a great sinful dessert was had yesterday for sudden guests….

15 comments on “Perfect Pound Cake with Dulche de Leche | Sweet Punch Baking

  1. Deepali
    July 7, 2011

    great cake.. 🙂

  2. vidhya viju govind
    July 7, 2011

    loved the topping – great thought – shall try next time 🙂

  3. Rajani
    July 7, 2011

    sounds interesting :). I have made dulce de leche before in a pressure cooker. Its very similar to how we cook chana or red kidney beans. You need to completely immerse the can in water and keep it in low flame for 20 -30 minutes after the first whistle. I kept for about 30 min and got a thick dulce de leche. It was very tasty! Next time I will keep it for 20 min.

  4. Divya
    July 7, 2011

    Yum,pound cake with ddl sounds divine!!Glad you liked the punch and thanks so much for baking with us!!

  5. Umm Mymoonah
    July 7, 2011

    Oh My! Pound cake and dulche de leche, that’s a heavenly combination. Looks utterly delicious.

  6. Priya
    July 7, 2011

    Yummmmm!!!gorgeous and wonderful looking cake, love that dulche de leche topping..

  7. Rinku Naveen
    July 7, 2011

    Wow that looks so yummy..

  8. Priya Yallapantula
    July 8, 2011

    Cake looks superb, I have to try out dulce de leche sometime 🙂

  9. Anu
    July 8, 2011

    What a combo – perfect pairing! Awesome!

  10. SinFoodie
    July 8, 2011

    Lovely combination Monika. The texture of the cake is really good. I need to try out ddl too. I had read few recipes earlier which used an unopened can in a pressure cooker. don’t know how safe that is.

  11. Noodlehead
    July 8, 2011

    Yum!!! I’ve made Dulce de Leche once when we were in Swz. I refered to Meeta’s link – http://www.whatsforlunchhoney.net/2009/04/cooking-school-5-ways-to-make-homemade.html.

    I think I’m going to make some pound cake soon! I have too much butter in the fridge (I never thought I’d see that happen ;))

  12. jay
    July 10, 2011

    wow….looks beautiful as well as yummy..
    first time here..love your space..
    excellent recipe collection..
    Am your happy subscriber now..:)
    do stop by mine sometime..
    Tasty Appetite

  13. the ghost who eats
    July 11, 2011

    Actually for the first time scrolled your entire blog looking at so many recipes… some have been noted and about to be made this month !!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    YOU SERIOUSLY SHOULD HAVE BEEN MY NEIGHBOUR !!!!! SERIOUSLY !

  14. SupMM
    July 16, 2011

    You know Mon, when I was a kid my mom used to make DDL for me when I was a kid with regular full cream milk and gur/ sugar. She still makes it when I go home. Its my alltime favourtie. I just love to ave it plain,

    Btw I make banoffee pie in a similar way

  15. Pingback: Perfect Pound Cake with Dulche de Leche |reposted from Sin-a-Mon Tales | Entrepreneur. Designer. Me.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2011 by in Baking, Cake, Cakes and tagged , , , , , , .

CAL Badge