Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Pan Roasted Chilli Garlic Balsamic Fish

I love basa and since the time Kalyan posted the recipe of Chilli Garlic Balsamic basa he made I have been trying to get hold of some basa without any luck. Every time I go and ask for basa the fish sellers look at my face as if I am talking in Greek and in a very superior air tell me madam you must be talking about sea bass aka betki and if I try telling them no that is not what I am talking about, that’s it. I guess the story would end there :| But this weekend I was determined to make it whatever and to add it to I saw this lovely technique of cooking meat called Pan Roasting which was begging to be tried ASAP. So I decided to buy sea bass itself since the texture of it is a little similar to basa, white delicate fish and proceed it with.

I did a little changes to Kalyan’s recipe though, added dried thyme to the marinade along with what he had written and the balsamic vinegar I used was the normal one. And coming to the discovery of the pan roasting which is most certainly one of the best meat cooking technique I have used it a while. It uses a combination of stove cooking and oven cooking and the results you get are amazing. The fish was perfectly cooked not over done but still browned from outside like N likes it, what you do is heat a pan drizzle some oil. pan fry both sides for a little time on the stovetop (for the fish I did a minute on both sides) and later put the same pan in the oven to continue cooking. Result a delicious healthy fish is ready

Recipe – Pan Roasted Chilli Garlic Balsamic Fish (adapted from Finely Chopped)

  • Fish Fillets about a 1 kg
  • green chillies – 8-10
  • garlic pods – 10-12
  • dried basil – 1 tbsp
  • Balsamic Vinegar – 3 tbsp
  • freshly ground pepper – 1 tbsp

How I made it

  • Smash the green chillies, pepper and garlic together in a mortar and pestle. Mix in the rest of the ingredients.
  • Rub this marinade on the fish and keep aside for sometime, I kept it for about an hour
  • Heat a heavy bottom pan and drizzle with olive oil and proceed to cook as mentioned about. Cook each side of the fillet for about a minute and put the same pan in a preheated oven at 180C for about 5-7 minutes
  • Serve alongside a salad for a full meal or pass around as starters

20110712-181105.jpg

Also this is my first post from the iPhone still to figure out picture alignment etc….

3 comments on “Pan Roasted Chilli Garlic Balsamic Fish

  1. Pingback: Roasted mon | Barflowers

  2. Amoolya
    December 9, 2011

    really like your recipes. it’s nice to experience, along with you sometimes, the frustration of not being able to find the exact ingredients, but then inventing your own substitute.

    by the way, it’s mortar and pestle. mortal pester sounds pretty funny though. :D

  3. Pingback: Bringing Spice to your life | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2011 by in Non-Veg, Pan Roasting, Starters, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,415 other followers

