Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Adai

Same day, another post, another Tam dish πŸ™‚ now u know much I am loving it and this time its Adai, I have always relished adai when I have eaten it at various places. Infact I love all kind of cheelas and dosas and have many featured on my blog already. And this one being so healthy and full of protein I have always wanted to make it. So when the other day I was having a chat with Nandita of Saffron trail on twitter she led me to a recipe on her blog to make the same. With a brief guideline on how to make it. I created a mix of my own dals and created my own Adai… it was yummm and crisp and everyone at home loved it

What I used

the picture above contains

  • 1/2 cup of green moong dal
  • 1/2 cup of masoor dal
  • 1/2 cup of spilt black urad dal (with chilka)
  • 1/2 cup of channa dal
  • 1/2 cup of toor dal

apart from that u will need

  • green chillies – 3 or more depending on how spicy u need ur adai
  • dry red chillies – 2
  • curry leaves – about 5
  • salt to taste
  • oil for cooking the adai

How I made it

  • Wash and Soak all the dals in sufficient water overnight, than next morning wash the dals again to drain all the grime.
  • Add rest of the ingredients apart from oil and grind to a coarse mixture, dont over grind it in my humble opinion it tastes much better if the batter is not over grinded
  • Heat a non-stick pan, take a ladle full of batter and spread it circularly to make a dosa. Spread 1 tsp of oil all around the adai. Cook it till browned flip and cook the other side
  • Serve hot with any chutney u prefer, we had ours with a thin tomato chutney and mint-coriander chutney

Yummy and healthy isnt it?

And I am sending this to event which I always loved reading… My Legume Love Affair hosted this time at Mharo Rajasthan

8 comments on “Adai

  1. Writerzblock
    December 28, 2010

    Oh oh Mon, why do you do this? Posting such dreadfully yummilicious recipies…. I want to go right back to Chennai now!!!!!!!

  2. Bharathy
    December 28, 2010

    Such a homely looking adai!..natural and simple..:)

    Mom made this just yesterday and we loved it here..:)
    Thanks for your interest to take part in arusuvai. Sayantani is taking care of the co ordination part and i will forward your message to her πŸ™‚

    • monikamanchanda
      December 30, 2010

      thanks bharthy we all loved it here too and thanks for visiting

  3. Phoenixritu
    December 29, 2010

    Yes! This is what I want! Purrfect for a high protein and zero carb breakfast! Will definitely try this

    • monikamanchanda
      December 30, 2010

      yeah I love this for the exact same reason and its yummmmmmmmmm

  4. Swaram
    December 29, 2010

    I had them for breakfast today πŸ™‚
    A hot fav @ home πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2010 by in Indian Cuisine, Tamil Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

CAL Badge