Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Kadhi Chawal

DSC_0386

Now that I have come back from home I have yet another mom’s special with me… and this time its kadhi chawal…

I have already told you guys how much just how much I love the kadhi that mom makes and now here is the recipe… but I can bet you cant make it as well as she does :D :D

so drool first and then read he he

DSC_0398

Ingredients

for the kadhi

  • Sour Curd – 3 cups
  • Gram flour/besan – 1 cup
  • 2-3 cloves
  • 3-4 peppercons
  • 1 badi elaichi
  • 1 tsp methi seeds
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds (sarsoon not rai)
  • 2-3 green chillies
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • salt and chilli powder to taste
  • 2 tsp oil
  • handful of coriander leaves to garnish

for the pakoras

  • 1 cup gram flour
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1/ cup chopped mix vegies (optional, traditionally they are made of just onions but me and mom both like to add a little bit of veggies to it)
  • 1/2 tsp dhaniya powder
  • 1 /2 tsp garam masala
  • salt and chilli powder to taste
  • oil for frying

Method

for the kadhi

  • beat the sour curd and the besan together, u can use a blender or mix them using the whipper
  • heat the oil and add mustard seeds
  • when they start to crackle add methi seeds and the rest of the sabut masalas
  • fry for about 2 minutes and when they start to brown add chilli powder and turmeric
  • add the sour curd and besan mixture and keep stirring for 5 mins
  • Let it simmer for about 30- 45 minutes stirring in between till it leaves a nice aroma
  • in the meanwhile get ur pakoras ready

for the pakoras

  • mix all the ingredients together and deep fry in hot oil

interestingly this is where I have found a way to keep this healthier and avoid the deep frying (that is all I can thing of these days, N is so scared that I will change the way all his favorite food look and taste :P ) coming back to point… I make the batter a little thicker than normal and instead of deep frying them I fry them using a non stick paniyaram pan… uses much less oil…

  • Now add the pakoras to the kadhi simmer for about 2 mins
  • garnish with corriander leaves and serve with steamy hot rice

and did I tell u guys that one day old kadhi tastes absolutely yummilicous with hot paranthas… try it if u havent….

DSC_0396

50 comments on “Kadhi Chawal

  1. Shilpa
    November 21, 2009

    Me first! I love kadhi chawal….love love…..sigh! I am going to go home and cook kadhi for dinner for sure.

    • monikamanchanda
      November 21, 2009

      :) me too shilpa I love love love it

      and i am also making it for lunch today

  2. Passionate Goof
    November 21, 2009

    Whats the difference between sarson n rai? And thanks for teh recipe, i love this dish!!

    • monikamanchanda
      November 21, 2009

      its the size of the mustard seeds… big ones are sarsoon and small ones rai
      and u online darling?

  3. Vinod Sharma
    November 21, 2009

    Mouthwatering stuff!

  4. Parul
    November 21, 2009

    hmmm.. I just love garma garam Kadhi chawal, with lots of pakodis
    Thanks for sharing the recipe !!

  5. Swaram
    November 21, 2009

    Su loves Kadhi a lot .. thanks for the recipe Mons; wil try it soon :)

  6. hitchwriter
    November 21, 2009

    Oh boy !!!! :P :P :P :P

  7. Meira
    November 21, 2009

    South has a version of it called ‘Mor Korumbhu’ which , I feel, is exactly opposite kadhi ….not nice at all :D
    Kadhi is yum no doubt :D

    • umsreflections
      November 21, 2009

      Arre Meira, Come to my home and I’ll treat you to the best Mor Kozhambu in the world. Its indeed one of the delicious dishes in South Indian Cuisine. :)

      • monikamanchanda
        November 21, 2009

        my mil makes it pretty well too

        but nothing beats the punjabhi kadhi :D :D

    • monikamanchanda
      November 21, 2009

      ya i have had it… and i have to agree kadhi is much yummier :D :D

  8. umsreflections
    November 21, 2009

    Thats the recipe I’ve been looking for – Kadhi, the traditional one. Thanks a ton Monika – now, it’ll happen quite often at my home !!!!

  9. masood
    November 21, 2009

    Yummm!!! Is this diet friendly? ;)

    • monikamanchanda
      November 21, 2009

      depends on what diet are u following… in the diet i follow (rather used to :( ) it usually no no because i am milk products mostly…. else besan is healthy and curd is too

      and it becomes ok if u have it with steamed brown rice rather than jeera rice i guess

  10. Phoenixritu
    November 21, 2009

    Monika, if the curd is not sour, I just add juice of one lemon and it works. Otherwise I follow the same recipe. I add dry methi leaves to the pakoras. Yummy.

  11. Pallavi
    November 21, 2009

    The sound of Kadhi Chawal brings back lovely lovely memories of my days in Pune. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Mon!!

  12. Smitha
    November 22, 2009

    Wow! That does sound mouth watering! And reminds me that I have not made it since ages.. In my craze to keep oil levels low, I even try baking the pakoras – but of course, it never tastes as good :( Will try this out, the next time I make Kadhi chawal.

    • monikamanchanda
      November 24, 2009

      oh dont even remind of what all i have tried smitha, baking… steaming… steaming followed by baking… but sigh no results till i hit this one :D

      its also not 100% that but close enough I also make koftas like this now

      • Tara
        December 4, 2009

        uff.. you crazy girls.. some amt of oil/ghee is needed man..

        I love kadi chawal too.. this is one of the must have’s when i visit mom or mil..

        i liked sindhi kadi too.. hv to ask my friend the recipe so that i can try it too.

      • monikamanchanda
        December 9, 2009

        ha ha ha tara I agree with that but we do get that some amount in the veggies and all we make deep fried is not really required

        he he

        and yay i love the sindhi kadhi too and make it too often let me post the recpoe soon

  13. Aathira
    November 22, 2009

    Oh wow… I love kadhi and I can never make anything which even tastes like kadhi :(

  14. Pixie
    November 22, 2009

    interesting!!
    Looks yummy!

    Will try it out for sure! :) :)

  15. chandni
    November 22, 2009

    kadhi chawal is my favourtie food!

    • monikamanchanda
      November 24, 2009

      i know i know u have tweeted and made me green enough no of times :P

  16. Reema
    November 22, 2009

    somehow I never liked kadhi. :(

  17. myamusingmind
    November 23, 2009

    Drooooooooooooling

  18. suma
    November 23, 2009

    mmmmmmm….i should try this out soon…

    i too use the paniyaram pan for everything deep fried…

  19. Poppy
    November 24, 2009

    Mmmm sounds and looks delicious. Must try it – it’s looks very easy! And the paniyaram tip – priceless!

    • monikamanchanda
      November 24, 2009

      ya its not difficult at all…. and yes that paniyaram trip is very dear to my heart lets me eat a lot of things that otherwise couldnt have

  20. Tara
    December 4, 2009

    hey, am wondering how is this pan used for making pakoras.. can u illustrate please?

  21. Pingback: Nomination list – 6 ! « My attempt to write

  22. Pingback: Gatte Ki Sabji « Monika's World

  23. Pingback: AajPruned « Avant Garde Bloggies Awards

  24. Pingback: Final Nominations in Avant Garde Bloggies Awards – 2009 « Visceral Observations

  25. lisa
    March 23, 2010

    Very delicious and tempting :)

  26. Pingback: Cooking With Seasonal Produce : Moongra, radish pods | Sin-A-Mon Tales

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2009 by in Indian Cuisine, Indian Main Course, Punjabi Cuisine and tagged , , , , , , .

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,415 other followers

