Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Two Way Strawberry Chocolate Cupcakes and being in the news

What’s more pretty than Strawberry and what’s more tastier than a Strawberry.  I love strawberries, the delicate balance between tartness and sweetness, the bright red and the fresh green.  And the fact that they are so versatile makes them almost out of the world. So many things you can do with them, from eating it just like them to standard eating them with whipped cream or with rum spiked chocolate ganache, strawberry pies and tarts, strawberry shortbread and yes yes my favourite Strawberry cupcakes

DSC_0612 

Don’t they look pretty ? I mean look at that pink, guaranteed to take away anyone’s heart

We spent this strawberry season making these over and over again, made them with eggs, without eggs, champagne infused and plain. Made them for the house, made them for friends and made them for orders  and yet I couldn’t post it sooner, but hey there still are a few strawberries in the market for you to try this yummy cupcakes.

so here is the recipe both the eggless version and one with the eggs

DSC_0598

Recipe – Strawberry Chocolate Cupcakes with strawberry frosting

Source – Self

What I used

For the muffins

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup castor sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 yoghurt for the eggless version and 2 eggs otherwise
  • 1 cup chopped strawberries
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup melted and cooled butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup champagne (optional but highly recommended :))

For the frosting

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1.5 – 2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup strawberry puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla

DSC_0604

Just look at that crumb, soft moist and springy and this is the eggless one as I remember correctly

How I made them

  • Preheat the oven at 180C and line a 12 hole muffin tray with liners or use the stand alone muffin cups like the green ones in picture. I swear they are super awesome
  • Mix flour, baking powder, castor sugar and both the chocolate chips in a bowl and keep aside
  • In a separate bowl mix together the wet ingredients i.e milk, eggs (or yoghurt) and butter. Give it a slight whisk
  • Now mix the dry and the wet ingredients together till just mixed. Don’t over mix it
  • Fold in the strawberries and the champagne if  you are using
  • Pour in the prepared mould and bake for about 15-20 minutes till a tooth pick comes out clean
  • Leave it for cooling completely  and while its cooling, go ahead and eat one. If you are anything like me and my son you will have only a couple left for frosting
  • To make the frosting, using a handmixer beat butter till light and fluffy.
  • Add sugar in three batches and beat till well incorporated
  • Add the vanilla and the strawberry puree and beat for another minute, if you feel its too thin add some more icing sugar gradually till you reach the desired consistency
  • Using a star nozzle pipe the frosting on the cupcakes and decorate with sprinklers

DSC_0613

Now that the you have had the cupcakes, I think I can gloat a bit too, I mean if I won’t share my happiness with you readers, who will I share it with? The good news is that Sin-A-Mon has been getting a fair amount of media attention off late, both the humble blog and the business :), I have made a page to share all my media mentions. Stop over and look, leave a comment if you like and have a bite of these cupcakes with me to celebrate …

And here is the biggest one, the latest one… Yesterday’s Times Life national edition carried a story on India’s Saucy foodies and I was featured along with my favourite foodie Kalyan of the Finely chopped fame, Maria Goretti, Kajal Tejsinghani 

toi_3

toi_2

toi

You can read the article here and the link to the second page here

My phone didn’t stop ringing all day, with tweets, FB messages, SMS and calls and we were out for a day trip to N’s village with friends and it was a happy day yesterday, like Kalyan says couldn’t stop beaming throughout the day but I think the best part of the day was when mom called after seeing the picture and I could hear a chirp in her voice after a long long time as she hadn’t been well, it almost felt that this article has half cured her ;) Its funny how these small things create magic sometimes but then I guess mum’s will be mum’s

And on that happy note, see you till next time. I have tons of things to post and this time I promise I won’t just go away

19 comments on “Two Way Strawberry Chocolate Cupcakes and being in the news

  1. aditibharadwaj2000
    April 30, 2012

    Congratulations on being featured in the Times…..you must be thrilled such a good feeling I am sure.

    And thanks to the article I found my way to your blog! And I am so glad I did drop in! Great work and great recipes . Thank-yoou

  2. Kanchan
    April 30, 2012

    Recently found your blog, added in reader and what do i see next you feature in sunday times !! Awesome :)

    I bookmarked your page to ask number of questions regarding baking … so you might find my mail soon :)

  3. aditibharadwaj2000
    April 30, 2012

    Congratulations on being featured in the Times I am sure you are thrilled….must be such a good feeling to see your hard work pay off!

    And thanks to the article I found my way to your blog and I am so happy I did drop in ! Some real good recipes

    Thank you

  4. R's Mom
    April 30, 2012

    I read the article yesterday and very excitedly told the husband that I read your blog :) The personal one, the one for Ojas and this one :)

    Was super excited to see you in print :)

  5. Bikramjit Singh Mann
    April 30, 2012

    woooooooooooo hoooooooooooo congrats on being featured .. I know a celebrity tooooo :)

    and the cakes are yummmyliscious

  6. Smita
    April 30, 2012

    Congrats my dear and though I had read the article yest on my mobile I now realise that had rea only the 1st page :) So so so happy for you!!!

    As far as the muffins are concerned I had baked them in March and they had tuned out so well ki I can not get over it…I loved the way the strawwberry flavor teases ur tongue!!! Out of this world I say!

  7. soulmate
    April 30, 2012

    Congrats Monika.. Though I dont comment on your blog, but I am a silent reader. Yesterday when I read the article in the Times, I came back to check if its really you.. And now I see the link to the article.. Way to go… Great going…

  8. Anita Menon
    May 1, 2012

    Congrats on being featured. You deserve this and so much more!!

  9. AA_Mom
    May 2, 2012

    Mons – I was very happy to see your pic too.

  10. Ankita S Sinha
    May 24, 2012

    Hi Monika, u r such a inspiration for home bakers. love ur muffins n m totally in love with those cute lil polka dot green muffin cups……can u plz share d source of these cups???

  11. Rose
    November 1, 2012

    These are so yummy! I am drooling over the pictures right now. I can’t wait to make these babies!

Leave a Reply

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,838 other followers

