Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Tomato Rice–Comfort Food Series

Its time for Blog Hop wednesday and while I was browsing through the blog assigned to me for this week, I realised how we pick some recipes instantly and some just don’t even give it a chance. While I was thinking, my thoughts wandered away (hello don’t you say whats new now) to comfort food.. don’t we all have comfort foods, some foods we turn to when we are upset, some foods we turn to when we are happy, foods that give us comfort. Somewhere high up in the list of comfort food comes spicy tomato rice and raita for me but I realised I don’t have the recipe of that up on the blog, infact after I digged a little I realised I hardly have recipes of any of my comfort food up on the blog. So this will be the first post in comfort food series that hopefully I will be doing

DSC_0433

So I tried the tomato rice version on Ammu;s blog for today for dinner and it turned out pretty yumm… a little strange but nonetheless yumm, strange because it nicely balances the mexican flavors of jalapenos and olive oil with indian masalas… I served it with the burnt garlic chutney and boondi raita and the combo turned out for a super simple but yet hurried veg meal, for a day when I don’t feel like doing anything elaborate and idea is to get something on the table fast and quick

DSC_0440

Recipe – Tomato Rice (adapted from Ammu’s Kitchen)

What I used

  • 2 Cups of cooked rice (I used basmati)
  • 1 onions chopped
  • 4 Garlic cloves finely chopped
  • 1 green chillis sliced
  • 1 tsp of chopped pickled jalapenos
  • 2 Cups of tomatoes diced
  • 2 Tsp cumin-coriander powder
  • Cilantro for garnish 
  • handful of mint leaves
  • 1 Tsp olive oil
  • 1 Tsp jeera
  • Salt to taste
  • pinch of turmeric

How I made it

  • Heat a pan with oil add jeera to it. Fry till it browns a little.
  • Add garlic and chillis. Fry them till garlic is turns a little brown.
  • Add onion to pan and fry it till they turned transparent.
  • Add a couple of mashed mint leaves and fry for one minute
  • Add tomatoes along with salt and allow them to cook with a closed lid for about 5-6 minutes till they are soft and mushy
  • Add the jalapenos at this stage along with other masalas… Mix tomato mixture carefully to rice without breaking it & garnish with cilantro and mint leaves
  • Serve hot

DSC_0436

For seeing what the other blog hoppers are cooking go here

8 comments on “Tomato Rice–Comfort Food Series

  1. Sumee
    December 1, 2011

    tomato rice looks good.. rice dishes are always comforting isn’t it. :)

  2. Dhivya
    December 1, 2011

    Yummy Rice

  3. Kalyani
    December 1, 2011

    looks super good ! excellent clicks dear !

    Kalyani
    200th Post Giveaway
    Are you part of the Magic Mingle?

  4. Priya Sreeram
    December 1, 2011

    good one and am always in for comfort dishes !!

  5. Priyanka
    December 2, 2011

    Yummy recipe….honestly I have never tried a good tomato rice..
    But I wanna try your recipe :)

  6. Anonymously Disguised
    December 3, 2011

    I love those cute little bowls. Burnt Garlic Chutney? now that is something I am pretty sure I will love. Have to try it pronto!

  7. Siri
    December 9, 2011

    Ooooooh! all my left over rice becomes either tomato rice or ghee rice :-). Comfort food indeed.

    Siri

  8. Fatema
    March 26, 2012

    Made this for my daughter today and loved the flavor !!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2011 by in Indian Cuisine, Main Course and tagged , , , , .

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,577 other followers

