Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Book Review – The Tulleho book of Cocktails

I am total cocktail person, love my weekend drink and love it even more in form of cocktails

photo 1

when I saw ‘The Tulleho book of Cocktails’ up for review at blogadda I knew this a book for me, a book I would love to have. I am hoarder for cook books and recipe books anyways. I have about 3 books for cocktails and I don’t even want to count the number of recipe books I have.

The Tulleho book of Cocktails is a delightful read to an extent that its almost impossible not to feel trippy while reading it. The book starts with an introduction on various kinds of spirits and liquors (vodka, rum, whiskey is known to all but do we all know about Baileys, Cointreau, Kahlua) , must haves for a bar, the equipment. I had a certain level of comfort with cocktails but if you are someone whose only idea of cocktail till now is having one in a pub, this book is your answer. Its unassuming, starts from the basic. It teaches you what mixology actually is right from the beginning.

photo 2

What I loved about the book was the categories and how it touches the Indian side of the cocktail market, Market Fresh which uses fresh ingredients from the market, Desi Dhamaka using local Indian ingredients so that the end drink has an indianness to it,  Old Boys club i.e the one which is there forever since the old boys time Smile, Ladies Special well well, Dessert Cocktails oh I love these ones…the sweet after dinner mostly liqour based cocktails that very one serve the one of the road purpose Winking smile and well ofcourse the herbs and spices if you are a spicy person

The book also has the Tulleho classics like Instant Karma, Anarkali and some other yummy names like Anartini, Nimbuz Fresh, names that make you drool and want to grab that glass ASAP.

photo 3

The Tulleho book of Cocktails is a must have book on cocktails for any Indian home bar, a must have book for any aspiring or even expert Indian cocktail lover

Cocktail in the picture – Vasanth Neer

What I used

  • Vodka 45 ml
  • Lime Juice 15 ml
  • Midori 15 ml
  • Sugar Syrup 5 ml (actually I added only a couple of drops)
  • Coconut Water 90 ml
  • Ice to fill the glass or as much as you want
  • Lemon slice or mint leaf to garnish

How I made it

  • Shake all the ingredients apart from ice in a cocktail shaker and strain in the glass over ice
  • Garnish with lemon and say cheers

I loved the freshness of the drink, the coconut water and lemon together makes it so refreshing. This one goes right in my comfort cocktails (yes there is something like that, don’t make a face Smile with tongue out)

This review is a part of the Book Reviews Program at BlogAdda.com. Participate now to get free books!

One comment on “Book Review – The Tulleho book of Cocktails

  1. Bikram
    November 24, 2011

    Now thats my kind of BOOK I need that boook .. to try some of those recipes Pleaseeeeeeeeee :) he he hehe

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2011 by in Book Review and tagged , , , , , .

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,838 other followers

