Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Paneer Kulcha with Burnt Garlic & Mint Chutney BM#4 Day 2

N loves kulchas, loves kulchas in any form… the plain kulcha, onion kulcha , paneer kulcha any form of kulcha… So sometime back I took it on myself to make the yummiest possible kulcha at home and I am proud to say I did it…. here is presenting to u the yummiest paneer kulcha

and I served it with another yummy thing, burnt garlic and mint chutney. I am usually love green chutneys in all forms and keep on experimenting with them a lot so when I saw this I knew its something I had to make and I am glad I did because it was among the best mint chutneys I have had

Recipe : Paneer Kulcha (Adapted from Tandoori Cooking @ Home by Sanjeev Kapoor)

What I used

For the dough

  • Maida/all purpose flour 1 cup
  • Atta/ whole wheat flour  1 cup
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Ajwain – 1/4 tsp
  • Milk – 1/2 cup
  • Curd – 3 tbsp
  • Oil – 1 tbsp

For the filling

  • Paneer grated (I used home made paneer, I love it the best) 250 gms or 1 full cup
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 2 green chillies chopped
  • salt to taste
  • garam masala powder 1/2 tsp

How I made it

  • Sift the flours together with baking powder and salt. Mix everything apart from oil and knead till soft for about 5 minutes. If u feel the dough is hard add some more milk or water
  • Add the oil and knead again till about incorporated. Cover with a wet muslin cloth and keep aside for atleast one hour
  • In the meanwhile mix all ingredients of the filling and keep aside
  • Divide the dough into balls of the size u make paranthas (I got about 7 kulchas from the dough)
  • Place the balls of the dough on the lightly floored chakla or directly on the counter whatever u prefer, flaten it a little and add ball of filling to the small. Repeat for all the dough
  • Keep the prepared balls aside for about 5-10 mins
  • Roll them and bake in a preheated oven at 180C for about 12 mins or till done
  • If u want the top more browned heat it directly on the flame too for 30 seconds

And now that we are talking about the burnt garlic and mint chutney so much lets have the recipe for that too :)

Recipe – Burnt Garlic & Mint Chutney (adapted from Tandoori Cooking @ Home by Sanjeev Kapoor)

What I used

  • 6-7 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup of mint leaves roughly chopped , stalk removed
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1/2 tsp black salt or acc to taste
  • 1/2 cup curd
  • handful of coriander leaves

How I made it

  • Heat oil in a pan and add crushed garlic to it. fry for about 1 minute.
  • Add the black salt to it and fry till it turns totally burn, the idea is to burn it
  • Add this to the rest of the ingredients and grind to chutney consistency
  • Serve as u want

Check out my Blogging Marathoners doing BM#4 hosted by Srivalli

Diabetes Diet/Management: PJ
Kid Friendly Recipes: SumaPriya SureshDivya
Seven Days of Soup:IlaSmita P
Seven Days of Indian Bread: Monika
Seven Days of Cakes: Bhagyashri
30 Minutes Meals: Archana
Seven days of CondimentKamalikaSrivalli

15 comments on “Paneer Kulcha with Burnt Garlic & Mint Chutney BM#4 Day 2

  1. sandhya
    April 12, 2011

    You know I didn’t eat much on weekend coz I had to eat the Kanjak food today, it became my cheat day…but now how do I resist this Kulcha? Tell tell !! The recipe is so simple and I am drooling on those pics……got to hold myself firm!

  2. divya
    April 13, 2011

    wow ..what a presentation…..lovely kulcha’s…love it…

  3. Priya
    April 13, 2011

    Can have kulchas anytime, very tempting and delicious paneer kulchas..

  4. Bhagyashri
    April 13, 2011

    That is so tempting!

  5. Archana
    April 13, 2011

    Ahhh..Kulcha looks so tempting and just want to eat them right away. Nice recipe.

  6. Srivalli
    April 13, 2011

    Looks awesome Mons..I love kulchas too..I make them the same way..yet to post!

  7. ila
    April 13, 2011

    wonderful and delicious combo :)

  8. vaishali sabnani
    April 13, 2011

    they look amazing…n the chutney is finger licking!!

  9. Writerzblock
    April 13, 2011

    Ooohhhhh this looks absolutely droolworthy!!!!

  10. PJ
    April 13, 2011

    Wow yummy kulcha and super yummy chutney Mons :)

  11. Kamalika
    April 14, 2011

    Awesome …. Love Minth chutney any day …

  12. Suburban Mumma
    April 15, 2011

    Looks delicious.. I have to try!!!:P

  13. UmaS
    April 25, 2011

    That chutney is certainly drool-worthy, Monu. Kulcha too seems so easy….a must try. :)

    A casual visit to this blog is sure to give a person more ideas for dinner / lunch / bfast…. :P :P

  14. Pingback: Tomato Rice–Comfort Food Series « Sin-A-Mon

  15. Pingback: Lets Learn To Make Aloo-Paneer Kulcha Today

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2011 by in Baking, Indian Cuisine, Main Course and tagged , , , , , .

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,047 other followers

