Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Microwave Bharwan Bhindi

I am a huge fan of bharwan masala bhindi but I used to make it so less at home because it just take too much oil to make it and I hate using more oil in my everyday cooking than one day I had a brainwave… why not attempt it in microwave. Mil said no I won’t be nice. I nevertheless tried to attempt and I was glad I did. The first time I did it came out a little drier to my liking but the next time I sprinkled some water on top of it while making it and the dryness was gone Smile a perfect way to enjoy bharwan bhindi which is not oily too

IMG_2345

What I used

  • 300 gms bhindi
  • 2 onions sliced
  • 1 large tomato chopped
  • 1 tsp shahi jeera (caraway seeds) or if u can’t find it than use normal jeera or cumin seeds
  • 1-2 tsp oil

to be mixed for stuffing masala

  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 2 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp amchor (dry mango) powder
  • 2 tsp tava fry masala (optional – if u don’t have increase the quantity of coriander powder, aamchor and jeera powder)
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • salt to taste

How I made it

  • Wash and clean the bhindi and keep aside for drying, once dry chop the top of the bhindi and make a slit in the centre and add a little bit of stuffing in it, do that for all the bhindi’s and keep aside. Keep a little masala extra for the onions
  • Put oil in a microwave proof dish (when u are cooking always try and use glass, plastic is ok for reheating for a while but never cook in it) add the caraway seeds to it and microwave on medium flame for about 2 minutes till the seeds brown slightly
  • Add the onions and microwave on high for about 3 mins
  • At this stage add bhindi to it, stir a little, sprinkle some water on the top and microwave on high for 5 mins. See how lovely the bhindi looks at this point

IMG_2336

  • Add the little masala kept aside for onions to the mixture above and microwave on high for another 4 mins
  • At this stage add the tomatoes and microwave for just one minute or so. I like my tomatoes slightly fresher and undone in the bhindi if u don’t like that please add it at the above stage or u can skip it all together. Most people don’t put tomatoes in bhindi but I love them Smile
  • And serve hot with hot hot phulkas

IMG_2344

And this is going off to Cooking with seeds : Caraway seeds, Valli’s 365 days of microwave cooking and CMT : Sabzi by Jagruti

And did u check out what my fellow foodie marathon buddies are upto? Priya Suresh,Jay, Valli, PJ, Priya Vaasu, Azeema, Reva,Ayeesha, Veena&Soumya.

11 comments on “Microwave Bharwan Bhindi

  1. Krithi Karthi
    January 16, 2011

    Tasty stir-fry.. love okra

    • monikamanchanda
      January 18, 2011

      my son totally loves it, its made in our house almost everyday

  2. Kalyan
    January 16, 2011

    this looks interesting as bhindi is one of the few vegetables that I like and microwave’s a blessing when the cook has bunked on a working day

  3. revathi
    January 16, 2011

    lovely looking dish and that too cooked in the microwave…makes it even more tempting..

  4. Swaram
    January 16, 2011

    Oh I luv this :D

  5. subhie
    January 17, 2011

    wow thats yummy n easy !

  6. Usha
    January 18, 2011

    Love bharwan bhindi!

  7. Priya
    January 18, 2011

    Fingerlicking bharwan bhindi,absolutely inviting..Thanks for sending to CWS..

  8. Aathira
    January 19, 2011

    Looks good :)

    I have made Bhindi without any onions also… that too comes out good… with all the rest of the masalas same.

Leave a Reply

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,743 other followers

