Sin-A-Mon Tales

A chronicle of my kitchen experiments, a little healthy a little indulgent

Orange Marmalade

I love making jams and conserves at home… They are a bit of hardwork but the satisfaction you get post that is amazing…usually I make mango jam during the mango season as we get soooo many mangoes from the village that we really don’t know what to do of them. So every summer about 4-5 bottles of mango jam is made and its enjoyed for the next 2 months. Yes you heard it right only for next two months, you see my little brat loves jams and that is reason number two I love making jams at home.

So the other day I was browsing Tarla Dala’l’s Microwave Snacks & Desserts and I came across a recipe for Orange Marmalade I was pretty excited, I had been thinking of making some jam anyways and this one seemed pretty easy. So I decided to try my hand on it. And I am glad I did because it turned out so yumm…. more like conserve, a little thicker I would say than a marmalade but nonetheless yummm

06012011267

What I used

  • 1 cup fresh orange juice
  • 1 cup papaya, grated (yeah this is news to me I didnt know we put papaya in orange marmalade)
  • 1 tablespoon orange rind
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • a pinch of citric acid mixed with 1 tablespoon of orange juice

IMG_2242

How I made it

  • Combine all the ingredients except the citric acid mixture in a large microwave bowl and mix well

IMG_2243

  • Microwave on high for 15 minutes, stirring twice in between. Make sure the bowl you have taken is large enough so that mixture doesn’t spill out.
  • Add the citric acid mixture and mix well

IMG_2244

  • Cool and store in a air tight container and keep enjoying.

The above quantities don’t make a lot of marmalade. Only the amount that you see in the first picture so I didn’t refrigerate it but I think if you make more it is a good idea to do that. We enjoyed it next morning with whole wheat bread and some fresh oranges for a very orangey breakfast Open-mouthed smile

06012011270

I am really enjoying this marathon thingy and I hope you guys are enjoying reading my posts too… Do drop in to my buddies kitchens too Smile SrivalliJayashree , PJ, Revathi, PriyaPriya Vasu and Azeema

And I am sending this to 365 Days of Microwave Cooking

8 comments on “Orange Marmalade

  1. Phoenixritu
    January 9, 2011

    Looks deeeeeevine! But papaya?? That was surprising

  2. ahmad
    January 9, 2011

    Thank you,
    it is delicious

  3. Srivalli
    January 10, 2011

    Wow this is completely made in microwave?..cool..do send this to 365 days of Microwave cooking Mons..colour looks great..

  4. Swaram
    January 10, 2011

    Papaya is news for me too!

  5. Ruma
    April 29, 2012

    Hi Monica this really looks grt. Just a quick question, do we use a raw papaya or the normal one, I mean or the ripe.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

CAL Badge

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,451 other followers

